It’s Been a Great Year for Kala!

IMG_1621 (2)

Hard to believe it’s been a year since becoming an author. Writing In Kala’s Hands: A Lakota Sioux Proclamation is a surprised accomplishment. Not from lack of determination, but from a host of health issues which remain unpredictable on a daily basis. I suffer from CML, a rare leukemia, and the side effects from ingesting a daily chemo pill demand my attention. Modifying my daily activities became the norm since 2009, the year I retired. I was diagnosed in 2003, but continued teaching middle school students for five years. In October 2008, I decided I couldn’t work one more day. It was a painstaking decision, which affected my future.

Trying to master the craft of writing is never ending. Short stories and blogging became the progression before attempting a novel. Whenever I hold my book in my hands, it amazes me. Yet since publishing, I cannot come up with a story I want to turn into a second book. Sure, I’ve started a few projects, but none I’m excited about continuing. I don’t want to write a story lacking passion. When I think of In Kala’s Hands, I well up in tears. I absolutely love her story. I’m anxious to feel that again for my second book.

During the past year it’s been gratifying to know people are reading and enjoying In Kala’s Hands. I receive valuable reviews and emails from readers expressing their thoughts. Nothing makes me happier. Kala is in numerous libraries, sixteen in Nevada and two out of state. I check weekly and someone is always reading a copy.

As I follow authors marketing and promoting their books, I realize I should work harder in that discipline. But I refuse to be obnoxious and force people to read my novel. There are people who own it and haven’t even read it yet. I post and tweet every so often, a sufficient reminder to readers Kala is available. In the spring I’ll once again take part in local book fairs hoping to acquire new fans.

My favorite part about writing is research. I dream about my bum knees allowing me to participate in hands-on research. I’d love to travel for primary source information. My son accompanied me to Rapid City, SD while I researched for In Kala’s Hands. There’s nothing like walking in your protagonist’s shoes. It made all the difference to me as a writer.

Without you, my astute readers, I would never consider writing a second book. I appreciate all who have read my novel and I especially want to thank those who took the time to comment on my blog and/or write a review on Amazon so others may add In Kala’s Hands: A Lakota Sioux Proclamation to their reading list.

Thank you for a great year!

Thank you for reading, as always feel free to leave a comment.

Mary 🙂

Standard

4 thoughts on “It’s Been a Great Year for Kala!

Leave a Reply

